Bournemouth Holidays

Beach hut hire in Bournemouth: 2026 prices and how to book

BCP Council hires out 284 huts and 19 pods. Winter hire to 19 March 2027 from £675; 2026 season £25 to £30 a day walk-in, £119 to £389 a week.

Facts checked against official sources on 1 November 2026. How we research

Coloured beach huts below the cliffs on Bournemouth seafront
Photo: Jorge Franganillo, CC BY 4.0

Ways to hire a beach hut, and what each costs

Every price below is the council’s own, from its BCP beach hut hire page and the linked pod and accessible hut pages, re-read on 1 November 2026. The range within each price depends on the hut type and position, from a standard hut to a double pod with electricity. Prices for the 2027 season had not been published.

Beach hut and pod hire in Bournemouth and Poole, 2026/27 prices, checked 1 November 2026
Daily hire, standard hut
Where
Bournemouth East and Bournemouth West only
When
28 March to 25 September 2026
Price
£25 to £30 a day
How to book
In person at the Tourist Information Centre, Pier Approach; no advance booking
Source
BCP short-term hut hire
Weekly hire, hut (one week or longer)
Where
All 12 hire beaches
When
28 March to 25 September 2026
Price
£119 to £389 a week
How to book
Online or by phone, 01202 123800
Source
BCP short-term hut hire
Weekly hire, beach pod
Where
Boscombe Overstrand
When
28 March to 25 September 2026
Price
£139 to £389 a week
How to book
Online or by phone
Source
BCP beach pod hire
Weekly hire, accessible hut
Where
Boscombe
When
28 March to 25 September 2026
Price
£119 to £169 a week
How to book
Online or by phone
Source
BCP accessible beach huts
Peak summer block (10 weeks)
Where
All hire beaches
When
27 June to 4 September 2026
Price
Huts £1,679 to £3,879; pods £1,939 to £3,879
How to book
Online or by phone
Source
BCP short-term hut hire
Spring and summer block (26 weeks)
Where
All hire beaches
When
28 March to 25 September 2026
Price
Huts £3,989 to £9,199; pods £4,619 to £9,119
How to book
Online or by phone
Source
BCP short-term hut hire
Winter block (25 weeks)
Where
All hire beaches
When
26 September 2026 to 19 March 2027
Price
Huts £675 to £1,559; pods £779 to £1,559
How to book
Phone the Tourist Information Centre once the period has started; pods and accessible huts fully booked
Source
BCP short-term hut hire
Bournemouth Beach Lodges, overnight
Where
Boscombe promenade, BH5 1BN
When
All year; 3, 4, 7, 10 or 11 nights from a Monday or Friday
Price
Not published (shown when booking); dogs £50 a stay
How to book
Online or 01202 126127
Source
Bournemouth Beach Lodges availability
Privately licensed hut in Poole
Where
Poole beaches
When
Up to 56 days a year per hut, with council permission
Price
At most £125 a week (1 April to 22 May), £179 (23 May to 25 September), £40 (26 September to 19 March)
How to book
From the hut’s licence holder
Source
BCP subletting in Poole
Privately licensed hut in Bournemouth
Where
Bournemouth beaches
When
Not stated
Price
Not stated
How to book
Only to Bournemouth residents
Source
BCP subletting in Bournemouth

Daily hire is the only way to take a hut without booking ahead, and it only runs in the main season: from late September to March the shortest hire is the 25-week winter block, which is already under way, so BCP asks hirers to phone the Tourist Information Centre on 01202 123800 for what is left. The council’s pages give no dates or prices for the 2027 season yet, and its mailing list is the stated way to hear when 2027 to 2028 bookings open.

Which beaches have huts for hire

Twelve beaches have council huts to hire, from Alum Chine and Southbourne on the Bournemouth side to Sandbanks and Shore Road in Poole. The hut counts below are the huts listed on the council’s BCP beach hut booking system on 19 October 2026, along with each hut’s type, its winter price and its dog marking. Nearest car parks are from BCP’s beach hut location pages.

Council hire huts by beach, west to east, listed 19 October 2026
Sandbanks
Huts listed
33
Types
31 standard, 2 with electricity and water
Winter 25 weeks from
£709 (standard)
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Sandbanks surface car park; Banks Road and Salter Road on street
Source
BCP booking system
Shore Road
Huts listed
12
Types
9 standard, 3 with electricity and water
Winter 25 weeks from
£709 (standard)
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Shore Road car park; Chaddesley Glen and Banks Road on street
Source
BCP booking system
Canford Cliffs
Huts listed
16
Types
Standard
Winter 25 weeks from
£709
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Haven Road on street; Western Road car park
Source
BCP booking system
Branksome Chine
Huts listed
7
Types
5 standard, 2 with electricity and water
Winter 25 weeks from
£709 (standard)
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Branksome Chine and Beach Road surface car parks
Source
BCP booking system
Branksome Dene
Huts listed
6
Types
Standard
Winter 25 weeks from
£709
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
All year
Nearest parking (BCP)
Branksome Dene and Branksome Chine surface car parks
Source
BCP booking system
Alum Chine
Huts listed
50
Types
Standard
Winter 25 weeks from
£709
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
31 huts all year; 19 huts 1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Alum Chine car park
Source
BCP booking system
Durley Chine
Huts listed
21
Types
Standard
Winter 25 weeks from
£709
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
4 huts all year; 17 huts 1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Durley Chine and Alum Chine car parks
Source
BCP booking system
Bournemouth West
Huts listed
26
Types
Standard; daily hire in season
Winter 25 weeks from
£675
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
BIC and Beacon Road car parks
Source
BCP booking system
Bournemouth East
Huts listed
12
Types
Standard; daily hire in season
Winter 25 weeks from
£675
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
East Overcliff Drive on street
Source
BCP booking system
Boscombe West
Huts listed
46
Types
43 standard, 3 accessible
Winter 25 weeks from
£675
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Boscombe Undercliff and Overstrand car parks; The Marina on street
Source
BCP booking system
Boscombe Overstrand (pods)
Huts listed
19
Types
17 single pods, 2 double pods, all with electricity
Winter 25 weeks from
£779 (single); £1,559 (double)
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
Pods marked not suitable for dogs
Nearest parking (BCP)
Boscombe Undercliff and Overstrand car parks
Source
BCP booking system
Fisherman’s Walk
Huts listed
53
Types
Standard
Winter 25 weeks from
£709
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Woodside Road car park
Source
BCP booking system
Southbourne
Huts listed
2
Types
Standard
Winter 25 weeks from
£709
Dogs on the beach (booking system)
1 October to 30 April
Nearest parking (BCP)
Warren Edge and Solent Beach car parks
Source
BCP booking system

That makes 284 huts and 19 pods. Fisherman’s Walk and Alum Chine have the most; Southbourne has two, and the tourist board’s Bournemouth beach hut hire page calls hire there limited. Until 30 April 2027 dogs are allowed on every one of these beaches, under BCP’s winter rule. For a dog in summer, from 1 May 2027, the huts the booking system marks as on an all-year dog beach are at Branksome Dene and parts of Alum Chine and Durley Chine; the beach-by-beach rules are in dog-friendly beaches in Bournemouth.

Seafront car park tariffs for each of these beaches are compared in Bournemouth beach parking, and the Sandbanks options in Sandbanks parking.

Can you hire a beach hut for a day?

Yes, but only at Bournemouth East and Bournemouth West, either side of the pier, and only in the main season, which in 2026 ran from 28 March to 25 September; there is no daily hire in winter. These huts cannot be reserved: they are hired in person at the Tourist Information Centre on Pier Approach (BH2 5AA), and the 2026 price was £25 to £30 a day. BCP had not published 2027 dates when this page was checked. Every other hut and every pod is let by the week or longer.

Rules for hirers

The council’s BCP short-term hire terms and conditions apply to every hut and pod it hires out:

  • Daylight only. Huts and pods may only be used during daylight and not for overnight accommodation.
  • Six people at most in and around the hut at any time.
  • Hire runs Saturday to Friday. Keys are collected from 9am on the first Saturday and returned by 5pm on the last Friday, with one key per hut. Late return costs £50; a lost key £75.
  • Cooking. The council no longer fits gas cookers. A portable stove is allowed if its LPG cylinder is no heavier than 6kg and suitable for indoor use. No barbecues in or beside a hut.
  • Dogs are allowed in huts, but the beach’s own seasonal dog rules still apply.
  • No smoking in any hut or pod, and no subletting.
  • Furniture. Huts come with three deckchairs and/or a plastic table and chairs.
  • Driving to the hut. Vehicles may use the promenade from 9am to 10am only, at 10mph with hazard lights on. From 1 November to 27 March the access points are Durley Chine, Bournemouth Pier and Boscombe Pier only; from 28 March to 31 October Shore Road and Branksome Chine are added.

Cancelling or changing dates more than 30 days ahead costs 20% of the booking (at least £30); with less than 30 days’ notice there is no refund. Moving to a different hut carries the same 20% fee.

Beach pods and accessible huts at Boscombe

The 19 beach pods are part of the Overstrand building at Boscombe. The BCP beach pod page lists mains electricity, a kitchenette with kettle and microwave, two deckchairs, a director’s chair and a table. The booking system puts every pod on the first or second floor, each with a balcony, reached by stairs only with no lift, and marks all of them as not suitable for dogs.

Boscombe also has three accessible huts, each able to take up to four wheelchair users. Nearby are a Changing Places facility with a ceiling hoist, a mobility scooter charging point and accessible parking bays.

A beach wheelchair can be borrowed from the Boscombe beach office on a first-come basis against a refundable £50 cash deposit, and Mobi-Mats run from the promenade towards the sea between May and September. Two neighbouring accessible huts can be opened into one by removing the partition wall.

Can you sleep in a beach hut in Bournemouth?

Not in a council hut: the hire terms rule out overnight use, and so does the Poole licence for privately held huts. Two places nearby do allow it.

Bournemouth Beach Lodges, on the promenade near Boscombe Pier, are 24 lodges, open all year, listed by BCP Council and booked through its booking system. According to the Bournemouth Beach Lodges booking FAQs, 23 of them sleep up to six (four adults at most) and one accessible lodge sleeps five. Each has a kitchenette without an oven, a shower room, and beds on the ground floor and a mezzanine. Two dogs are allowed in the dog-friendly lodges for £50 a stay.

Stays start on a Monday or Friday, with check-in from 3pm and check-out by 10am. There is no allocated parking: free spaces on Boscombe Overcliff Drive (BH5 1JB) are first come, first served, and guests can get a permit for Boscombe Undercliff Drive car park, a 15-minute walk along the promenade (not during the Air Festival). Cars can reach the lodges along the promenade only on Mondays and Fridays at set times.

Mudeford Sandbank, at the Christchurch end of the bay, is the one place where beach huts themselves can be slept in, from 1 March to 31 October. All 346 are privately owned, so hire is from an owner; the rules, fees and ferry fares are in Mudeford beach huts.

Bournemouth beach huts for sale

Council huts in Bournemouth and Poole are not sold. They are held on yearly licences from BCP Council, open only to Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole residents who pay Council Tax to the council, through a waiting list that costs £50 a list to join. BCP’s waiting list page says it does not get involved in buying and selling huts.

The licences themselves cannot be passed on. A Bournemouth licence holder cannot transfer the licence to anyone, family included, except to someone at the same address after the holder’s death. In Poole the only transfer allowed is to the holder’s husband, wife or partner, for a £30 fee. Mudeford and Friars Cliff, where huts are bought and sold through estate agents, are covered in the Mudeford page.

Resident beach hut licences, Bournemouth and Poole, April 2026 to March 2027
Bournemouth West and East
Yearly licence fee
£3,150 (council hut)
Approximate wait
1 year
Source
BCP Bournemouth licence fees
Boscombe West
Yearly licence fee
£3,000 (council hut)
Approximate wait
1 year
Source
BCP Bournemouth licence fees
Alum Chine, Durley Chine, Fisherman’s Walk, Boscombe East
Yearly licence fee
£3,640 (council hut)
Approximate wait
Alum Chine 4 years; Durley Chine 1; Fisherman’s Walk list closed; Boscombe East 8
Source
BCP Bournemouth licence fees
Bournemouth site for your own hut
Yearly licence fee
£2,100 (£1,690 restricted access)
Approximate wait
Not stated separately
Source
BCP Bournemouth licence fees
Sandbanks
Yearly licence fee
£3,640
Approximate wait
2 years
Source
BCP Poole licence fees
Shore Road
Yearly licence fee
£3,150 to £3,640; premier £7,710
Approximate wait
4 years
Source
BCP Poole licence fees
Canford Cliffs
Yearly licence fee
£3,150 to £3,640
Approximate wait
7 years
Source
BCP Poole licence fees
Branksome Chine
Yearly licence fee
£3,150 to £4,800; site only £2,100
Approximate wait
4 years
Source
BCP Poole licence fees
Branksome Dene
Yearly licence fee
£3,150 to £3,640
Approximate wait
5 years; list closed
Source
BCP Poole licence fees
Flaghead Chine
Yearly licence fee
£3,640
Approximate wait
6 years; list closed
Source
BCP Poole licence fees
Hamworthy Park
Yearly licence fee
£3,010; site only £1,690
Approximate wait
5 years
Source
BCP Poole licence fees

Waiting times are the council’s own estimates and may change. The Fisherman’s Walk, Southbourne, Branksome Dene and Flaghead Chine lists were closed to new names when checked.

Frequently asked questions

Do you have to pay rates on a beach hut?

Licence holders may have to. BCP says beach huts are rated individually for non-domestic rates, billed separately from the licence fee, and that Small Business Rate Relief can cut the rates element by 100% for a licensee who pays business rates nowhere else. Short-term hirers pay only the hire price.

Can you hire a privately owned beach hut in Bournemouth?

Only if you live in Bournemouth. Both Bournemouth licences, for council huts and for privately built huts on council sites, forbid subletting to anyone who is not a Bournemouth resident. In Poole an owner may hire a hut out for up to 56 days a year with the council’s written permission, charging no more than the council’s weekly maximum.

Can you live in a beach hut?

No. Council hire is daylight only, and the Poole licence bans using a hut as a residence or for overnight sleeping. The Bournemouth beach hut licence (PDF) covers occupying a site from dawn to dusk.

Sources, checked 1 November 2026

  1. BCP beach hut hire page (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  2. BCP beach pod hire (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  3. BCP accessible beach huts (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  4. Bournemouth Beach Lodges availability (bournemouthbeachlodges.co.uk)
  5. BCP subletting in Poole (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  6. BCP subletting in Bournemouth (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  7. BCP beach hut booking system (bcp.visitor.express)
  8. beach hut location pages (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  9. Bournemouth beach hut hire page (bournemouth.co.uk)
  10. BCP short-term hire terms and conditions (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  11. Bournemouth Beach Lodges booking FAQs (bournemouthbeachlodges.co.uk)
  12. waiting list page (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  13. cannot transfer the licence (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  14. BCP Bournemouth licence fees (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  15. BCP Poole licence fees (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)
  16. Bournemouth beach hut licence (PDF) (bcpcouncil.gov.uk)

Prices, rules and policies change. Everything on this page was taken from the hotel, operator or council concerned and checked on 1 November 2026; check with them before you travel. Spotted something out of date? See how we research.