Dog-friendly hotels in Bournemouth: fees and rules compared
Dog fees at 11 Bournemouth hotels run from £5 to £30 a night on the hotels' own websites. Limits on size and number, where dogs may go, and which rooms are excluded.
Facts checked against official sources on 11 October 2026. How we research

Dog fees and rules at each hotel
Every fee and rule below comes from the hotel's own website or policy document, read on 11 October 2026. Booking sites often show a different figure for the same hotel (the Riviera appears at £10 on one, against £15 on its own page), so the hotel's own wording is the one to rely on.
| Hotel | Area | Dog fee | How many dogs | Where dogs can go | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Riviera | Alum Chine | £15 per dog, per night | One per room | Reception alcoves and The Bridge Bar & Grill, on a lead. Not the pool complex or artificial lawn | Dog Policy 2026 (PDF) |
| Hotel Collingwood | West Cliff | £15 per dog, per night (small or medium dogs; large-dog fee not stated) | Two small or medium, or one large | All areas except the Gold Room restaurant and the Spa; breakfast in the Bubble Lounge | Hotel FAQs |
| THE NICI | West Cliff | £30 per dog, per night | Not stated | Dog-friendly rooms; public areas not stated. Book through reservations | Hotel FAQs |
| The Hermitage | Town centre, Exeter Road | £20 a day | One small dog under 10kg | Designated outdoor areas only; not bars, lounges, restaurants or terrace. Not in Premier, Superior, Superior Deluxe or Suite rooms. £50 refundable deposit | Dog policy page |
| Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott | West Cliff | Not stated (“additional charges apply”) | Not stated on the offer page | Dog Friendly Package: bed, mat, bowls, treats and a toy. Package listed as valid to 31 December 2026 | Paws and Relax offer |
| The Cumberland | East Cliff | £20 per dog (per night or per stay not stated) | One small to medium dog per room | Lido deck and a section of the bar only, on a lead. Not in Ocean Front Suite, Superior Sea View or first-floor Terrace Sea View rooms | Dog policy, Sept 2025 (PDF) |
| Queens Hotel & Spa | East Cliff | £15 per pet, per night | Up to two per bedroom | Public areas and grounds on a lead; not the restaurant or breakfast area | Hotel blog post |
| East Cliff Cottage Hotel | East Cliff, Grove Road | £5 a night cleaning charge (per dog not stated) | Not stated | Your room and the lounge; not the dining room | Pets page |
| The Ashleigh | Boscombe | Not stated | Up to four per room, any size or breed | All areas; on a lead in hallways and the dining room. Secure garden | Dog-friendly page |
| Travelodge Bournemouth | Christchurch Road, BH1 | £25 for one pet, £50 for two, per room (per night or per stay not stated) | One or two (the two options offered) | Pet-friendly rooms; guide dogs exempt from the charge | Hotel page |
| Travelodge Bournemouth Cooper Dean | A338, Cooper Dean | £25 for one pet, £50 for two, per room (per night or per stay not stated) | One or two (the two options offered) | Pet-friendly rooms; guide dogs exempt from the charge | Hotel page |
- Area
- Alum Chine
- Dog fee
- £15 per dog, per night
- How many dogs
- One per room
- Where dogs can go
- Reception alcoves and The Bridge Bar & Grill, on a lead. Not the pool complex or artificial lawn
- Source
- Dog Policy 2026 (PDF)
- Area
- West Cliff
- Dog fee
- £15 per dog, per night (small or medium dogs; large-dog fee not stated)
- How many dogs
- Two small or medium, or one large
- Where dogs can go
- All areas except the Gold Room restaurant and the Spa; breakfast in the Bubble Lounge
- Source
- Hotel FAQs
- Area
- West Cliff
- Dog fee
- £30 per dog, per night
- How many dogs
- Not stated
- Where dogs can go
- Dog-friendly rooms; public areas not stated. Book through reservations
- Source
- Hotel FAQs
- Area
- Town centre, Exeter Road
- Dog fee
- £20 a day
- How many dogs
- One small dog under 10kg
- Where dogs can go
- Designated outdoor areas only; not bars, lounges, restaurants or terrace. Not in Premier, Superior, Superior Deluxe or Suite rooms. £50 refundable deposit
- Source
- Dog policy page
- Area
- West Cliff
- Dog fee
- Not stated (“additional charges apply”)
- How many dogs
- Not stated on the offer page
- Where dogs can go
- Dog Friendly Package: bed, mat, bowls, treats and a toy. Package listed as valid to 31 December 2026
- Source
- Paws and Relax offer
- Area
- East Cliff
- Dog fee
- £20 per dog (per night or per stay not stated)
- How many dogs
- One small to medium dog per room
- Where dogs can go
- Lido deck and a section of the bar only, on a lead. Not in Ocean Front Suite, Superior Sea View or first-floor Terrace Sea View rooms
- Area
- East Cliff
- Dog fee
- £15 per pet, per night
- How many dogs
- Up to two per bedroom
- Where dogs can go
- Public areas and grounds on a lead; not the restaurant or breakfast area
- Source
- Hotel blog post
- Area
- East Cliff, Grove Road
- Dog fee
- £5 a night cleaning charge (per dog not stated)
- How many dogs
- Not stated
- Where dogs can go
- Your room and the lounge; not the dining room
- Source
- Pets page
- Area
- Boscombe
- Dog fee
- Not stated
- How many dogs
- Up to four per room, any size or breed
- Where dogs can go
- All areas; on a lead in hallways and the dining room. Secure garden
- Source
- Dog-friendly page
- Area
- Christchurch Road, BH1
- Dog fee
- £25 for one pet, £50 for two, per room (per night or per stay not stated)
- How many dogs
- One or two (the two options offered)
- Where dogs can go
- Pet-friendly rooms; guide dogs exempt from the charge
- Source
- Hotel page
- Area
- A338, Cooper Dean
- Dog fee
- £25 for one pet, £50 for two, per room (per night or per stay not stated)
- How many dogs
- One or two (the two options offered)
- Where dogs can go
- Pet-friendly rooms; guide dogs exempt from the charge
- Source
- Hotel page
Which Bournemouth hotels let dogs into the restaurant or bar?
The Riviera serves breakfast and every other meal to dog owners in The Bridge Bar & Grill, so the dog stays with you. Hotel Collingwood allows dogs everywhere except the Gold Room restaurant and the Spa, with breakfast for dog owners in the Bubble Lounge. The Ashleigh lets dogs into the dining room on a lead.
The rest keep dogs out of the dining rooms. The Cumberland allows dogs on the lido deck and in part of the bar only. Queens Hotel & Spa and East Cliff Cottage both exclude the restaurant or dining room. The Hermitage is the strictest: dogs are not allowed inside any bar, lounge, restaurant or terrace where food is served.
West Cliff and Alum Chine hotels
The Riviera sits at Alum Chine, at the western end of Bournemouth's seafront. Its 2026 dog letter points guests to Branksome Dene and the west end of Sandbanks for beach walks between 1 May and 30 September, when dogs are kept off the main beach from Alum Chine to Bournemouth. It also lends blankets, puts water bowls around the hotel and has a hose in the front car park for washing feet.
Hotel Collingwood, THE NICI and the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott are on the West Cliff, above the town centre. The nearest stretch of beach that takes dogs all year is BCP Council's Middle Chine to Durley Chine zone (matched by location, not measured). Collingwood places dog owners near an outside exit where it can, and puts water and food bowls and local treats in the room. THE NICI provides a bowl and bed and asks you to book a dog room by phone.
The Hermitage, on Exeter Road by the pier, takes one dog under 10kg and only in its standard rooms. Select the pet extra when booking and sign a pet bond at check-in.
East Cliff and Boscombe hotels
The Cumberland takes one small to medium dog per room. Dog rooms are allocated first come, first served, and housekeeping will only enter if the dog is out or on a lead. Damage or noise problems are charged at a minimum of £100, under its September 2025 policy.
Queens Hotel & Spa takes up to two pets per room at £15 a night each, on a lead in public areas. East Cliff Cottage Hotel, a smaller hotel on Grove Road, charges £5 a night for cleaning and says the nearest dog beaches are about 10 minutes away by car or a 40-minute walk.
The Ashleigh on Southcote Road, Boscombe, has the widest rules of any hotel here: up to four dogs per room, any size, all areas. It also takes XL Bully type dogs that hold an exemption certificate, muzzled and on a lead in shared areas, with the certificate and insurance sent before arrival (XL Bully conditions).
For hotels on this side of town, the nearest year-round dog beach on BCP's list is east of Fisherman's Walk towards Southbourne.
The Cumberland Hotel website →
East Cliff Cottage Hotel website →
Is Travelodge Bournemouth dog friendly?
Yes. Both Bournemouth Travelodges, on Christchurch Road and at Cooper Dean on the A338, list pet-friendly rooms. The charge is added as a booking extra: £25 for one pet or £50 for two, per room. Guide dogs are exempt. The hotel pages do not say whether the charge is per night or per stay.
Travelodge Bournemouth website →
Travelodge Bournemouth Cooper Dean website →
Listed as dog-friendly on booking sites, but the hotel says no
Booking-site fees also drift from the hotels' own, as with the Riviera's £10 against its own £15. A pet filter on a booking site is a starting point, and the hotel's policy page is the one that applies at check-in.
Just outside Bournemouth: Christchurch
Captain's Club Hotel & Spa, on the River Stour at Christchurch, charges £20 per dog per night. Dogs stay in the Luxury Suites and can join you on the terrace and in the bar, on a lead (dog-friendly page). Its Sir Woofchester's menu sells dog treats and dinners. Mudeford Sandbank and Gundimore Beach, both open to dogs all year, are the nearest dog beaches.
Captain's Club Hotel & Spa website →
Can you leave a dog alone in the room?
At most of these hotels, no. The Riviera says dogs "cannot be left unattended in the room under any circumstances", Queens says pets "cannot be left alone in the hotel", and The Hermitage says dogs "must not be left unattended in rooms".
The Cumberland draws a narrower line: don't leave the dog in the room if you leave the hotel, but if you are using the hotel's own facilities you can leave it in the room with the do-not-disturb sign up. Collingwood, THE NICI, the Marriott, The Ashleigh and East Cliff Cottage do not publish a rule, so ask before you plan a dog-free dinner out.
What to ask before you book
- Is the fee per night, per stay or per dog?
- Is there a weight or size limit? The Hermitage's is 10kg; The Cumberland's is small to medium.
- Do you need to book a specific dog room? The Cumberland, The Hermitage and Collingwood all limit dogs to certain room types.
- Where can the dog eat with you?
- Can the dog be left in the room, and for how long?
Between 1 May and 30 September dogs are banned from Bournemouth's main beaches, so a summer stay works best near one of the year-round zones. The dog-friendly beaches in Bournemouth page has each beach's summer status and where the nearest dog zone is.
Frequently asked questions
Which UK hotel chains are dog friendly?
Of the chains with Bournemouth hotels, Travelodge lists pet-friendly rooms at both of its Bournemouth hotels for £25 per pet per room, and the Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott sells a dog-friendly package. Hotel du Vin's group policy accepts dogs at its hotels for £25 a night for one dog (Hotel du Vin dog policy); its nearest hotel is in Poole.
Do any Bournemouth hotels take large dogs?
Yes. Hotel Collingwood takes one large dog per room, and The Ashleigh welcomes dogs of any size. The Cumberland limits dogs to small to medium, and The Hermitage to under 10kg.
Are dogs allowed in hotel swimming pools or spas?
None of these hotels says it allows dogs in its pool or spa. The Riviera bars dogs from its pool complex, and Collingwood keeps them out of the Spa. For pool facilities in general, see hotels with pools in Bournemouth.