Spa hotels in Bournemouth: facilities, hours and age rules compared
The Connaught, Queens and Christchurch Harbour include spa use in the room; West Cliff charges £15 a stay. Thermal rooms, hours and age limits at 10 spa hotels.
Facts checked against official sources on 11 October 2026. How we research

Spa facilities, hours and age rules at each hotel
Spa rules change more often than room types, so every entry links to the hotel page it came from. Where a cell reads "not stated", the hotel publishes nothing on that point and a phone call is the only way to confirm it.
| Hotel | Spa facilities | Treatments | Spa use when staying | Hours | Age rules | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Connaught (West Cliff) | 18m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, eucalyptus steam room, relaxation lounge, gym | Six treatment rooms, four of them doubles | Free for all hotel guests | Spa 7am to 9pm; treatments 10am to 6pm, daily | Pool closed to under-17s 12pm to 6pm; children staying can swim at other times with an adult | Bluewater Spa |
| THE NICI (West Cliff) | 18m heated indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, aromatherapy sauna, steam room, relaxation room, gym; 30m heated outdoor pool open year-round | Eight treatment rooms including one double; EVOLVE Organic Beauty products | Residents may use the spa; charge not stated | Not stated | Treatments and spa days 16+; spa breaks 18+; under-16s in the indoor pool 9am to 10am and 4pm to 5pm only | Facilities, FAQs |
| Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel | Spa pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, aromatherapy cave; separate glass-roofed leisure pool and gym | Not stated | £15 per one-night stay, £20 for any other length; leisure pool and gym free | Spa 8am to 8pm daily | No under-18s in the spa or gym | West Cliff spa |
| Queens Hotel & Spa (East Cliff) | Pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, relaxation lounge, gym | Massages and facials, some with ishga seaweed products | Free for hotel residents | Leisure 8am to 8pm; treatments 10am to 8pm, daily | Sauna and hot tub 16+; treatments 18+; under-16s in the pool with an adult | Queens spa, spa brochure |
| Hotel Collingwood (West Cliff) | Heated pool with water curtain, hot tub with massage jets, sauna, rainfall showers | Eden Spa, Sunday Solstice products | Not stated | Leisure suite 10am to 9pm; treatments 10am to 6pm, not Mondays | Conflicting: 18 for the spa without written parental consent, but 16 for treatments | Eden Spa |
| Ocean Beach (East Cliff) | Outdoor pool; heated indoor pool at sister hotel Suncliff next door, subject to availability | Oceana Day Spa: Image Skincare facials, hot stone and Swedish massage | Not stated | Day spa 10am to 6pm daily | Not stated on current pages | Ocean Beach spa, Oceana Day Spa |
| The Royal Bath (Bath Road) | Heated indoor pool, children’s splash pool, steam room, spa pool, gym | None listed on the health and leisure page | £5 per adult a day (towel included), £3 per child, under-6s free | Sunday to Wednesday 8am to 6pm; Thursday to Saturday 8am to 8.30pm | Under-16s with an adult | Royal Bath health and leisure |
| Haven Hotel (Sandbanks) | Indoor hydrotherapy pools, sea-view hot tub, sauna, steam rooms, gym; outdoor heated pool closed in winter from 30 September | Massage Merit Spa, Voya seaweed products | Not stated | Leisure club 9am to 5pm daily; treatments Tuesday 12pm to 5.30pm, Wednesday to Saturday 10am to 5.30pm | Not stated | Haven leisure club |
| Captain’s Club (Christchurch) | Hydrotherapy pool with Jacuzzi and resistance jet, sauna, poolside loungers, private sun terrace | Four treatment rooms; ESPA products | Pool for residents and spa day guests; charge not stated | Not stated | Hydrotherapy pool 16+ | CC Spa facilities |
| Christchurch Harbour Hotel (Mudeford) | Indoor heated pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, salt room, gym, indoor and outdoor relaxation areas | TempleSpa and Elemis treatments | Free while checked in, no time slot needed | Spa 7am to 8pm (last entry 7.15pm); treatments 9am to 6pm, daily | Treatments 18+; children staying use the pool and relaxation areas 8am to 9am and 4pm to 5pm (5.30pm in school holidays), never the thermal rooms | HarSPA Christchurch |
- Spa facilities
- 18m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, eucalyptus steam room, relaxation lounge, gym
- Treatments
- Six treatment rooms, four of them doubles
- Spa use when staying
- Free for all hotel guests
- Hours
- Spa 7am to 9pm; treatments 10am to 6pm, daily
- Age rules
- Pool closed to under-17s 12pm to 6pm; children staying can swim at other times with an adult
- Source
- Bluewater Spa
- Spa facilities
- 18m heated indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, aromatherapy sauna, steam room, relaxation room, gym; 30m heated outdoor pool open year-round
- Treatments
- Eight treatment rooms including one double; EVOLVE Organic Beauty products
- Spa use when staying
- Residents may use the spa; charge not stated
- Hours
- Not stated
- Age rules
- Treatments and spa days 16+; spa breaks 18+; under-16s in the indoor pool 9am to 10am and 4pm to 5pm only
- Source
- Facilities, FAQs
- Spa facilities
- Spa pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, aromatherapy cave; separate glass-roofed leisure pool and gym
- Treatments
- Not stated
- Spa use when staying
- £15 per one-night stay, £20 for any other length; leisure pool and gym free
- Hours
- Spa 8am to 8pm daily
- Age rules
- No under-18s in the spa or gym
- Source
- West Cliff spa
- Spa facilities
- Pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, relaxation lounge, gym
- Treatments
- Massages and facials, some with ishga seaweed products
- Spa use when staying
- Free for hotel residents
- Hours
- Leisure 8am to 8pm; treatments 10am to 8pm, daily
- Age rules
- Sauna and hot tub 16+; treatments 18+; under-16s in the pool with an adult
- Source
- Queens spa, spa brochure
- Spa facilities
- Heated pool with water curtain, hot tub with massage jets, sauna, rainfall showers
- Treatments
- Eden Spa, Sunday Solstice products
- Spa use when staying
- Not stated
- Hours
- Leisure suite 10am to 9pm; treatments 10am to 6pm, not Mondays
- Age rules
- Conflicting: 18 for the spa without written parental consent, but 16 for treatments
- Source
- Eden Spa
- Spa facilities
- Outdoor pool; heated indoor pool at sister hotel Suncliff next door, subject to availability
- Treatments
- Oceana Day Spa: Image Skincare facials, hot stone and Swedish massage
- Spa use when staying
- Not stated
- Hours
- Day spa 10am to 6pm daily
- Age rules
- Not stated on current pages
- Source
- Ocean Beach spa, Oceana Day Spa
- Spa facilities
- Heated indoor pool, children’s splash pool, steam room, spa pool, gym
- Treatments
- None listed on the health and leisure page
- Spa use when staying
- £5 per adult a day (towel included), £3 per child, under-6s free
- Hours
- Sunday to Wednesday 8am to 6pm; Thursday to Saturday 8am to 8.30pm
- Age rules
- Under-16s with an adult
- Spa facilities
- Indoor hydrotherapy pools, sea-view hot tub, sauna, steam rooms, gym; outdoor heated pool closed in winter from 30 September
- Treatments
- Massage Merit Spa, Voya seaweed products
- Spa use when staying
- Not stated
- Hours
- Leisure club 9am to 5pm daily; treatments Tuesday 12pm to 5.30pm, Wednesday to Saturday 10am to 5.30pm
- Age rules
- Not stated
- Source
- Haven leisure club
- Spa facilities
- Hydrotherapy pool with Jacuzzi and resistance jet, sauna, poolside loungers, private sun terrace
- Treatments
- Four treatment rooms; ESPA products
- Spa use when staying
- Pool for residents and spa day guests; charge not stated
- Hours
- Not stated
- Age rules
- Hydrotherapy pool 16+
- Source
- CC Spa facilities
- Spa facilities
- Indoor heated pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room, salt room, gym, indoor and outdoor relaxation areas
- Treatments
- TempleSpa and Elemis treatments
- Spa use when staying
- Free while checked in, no time slot needed
- Hours
- Spa 7am to 8pm (last entry 7.15pm); treatments 9am to 6pm, daily
- Age rules
- Treatments 18+; children staying use the pool and relaxation areas 8am to 9am and 4pm to 5pm (5.30pm in school holidays), never the thermal rooms
- Source
- HarSPA Christchurch
The Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott and Hilton Bournemouth are absent because neither hotel's website could be read to confirm what their leisure facilities include, their hours or their rules.
Which spa hotels include the spa in the room rate?
Three hotels say outright that staying guests use the spa at no extra cost. The Connaught calls its Bluewater Spa free for all guests. Queens lists complimentary use of its leisure facilities for residents. Christchurch Harbour Hotel lets guests use HarSPA free while checked in, without booking a time.
Two charge. The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel includes its leisure pool and gym but charges £15 for spa access on a one-night stay and £20 on any other stay. The Royal Bath charges residents £5 per adult and £3 per child a day for its pool, steam room and spa pool, with under-6s free.
The rest do not give a price. THE NICI's FAQ says residents may use the spa, and Captain's Club says its pool is for residents and spa day guests, but neither states whether the room rate covers it. Hotel Collingwood and the Haven Hotel are silent on charges too.
The Connaught Hotel & Spa website →
Thermal rooms: sauna, steam and hydrotherapy
For a spa break built around heat and water rather than lengths, the thermal line-up matters more than the pool. THE NICI and Christchurch Harbour Hotel each have a hydrotherapy pool alongside a sauna and steam room, and Christchurch Harbour adds a salt room. The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel has a spa pool, sauna, steam room and an aromatherapy cave, kept separate from its glass-roofed leisure pool.
Captain's Club, on the River Stour at Christchurch, has a hydrotherapy pool and sauna but no swimming pool listed. Hotel Collingwood's Eden Spa has a sauna and hot tub but no steam room is mentioned. The Royal Bath's facilities are a pool, spa pool and steam room, and its health and leisure page lists no treatments at all.
Ocean Beach is the outlier. Its Oceana Day Spa is a treatment spa: the heated indoor pool its guests can use is next door in sister hotel Suncliff, and only subject to availability.
Christchurch Harbour Hotel (Harbour Hotels website) →
Can children use the spa?
Most of these hotels split the swimming pool from the spa, with tighter rules on the thermal rooms and treatments. The Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel lets children into its leisure pool with an adult (two children per adult at most) but keeps under-18s out of the spa and gym. Christchurch Harbour Hotel allows children who are staying into its pool and relaxation areas at set times only, 8am to 9am and 4pm to 5pm, extended to 5.30pm in school holidays, and never into the sauna, steam room, hydrotherapy pool or salt room.
At The Connaught, the pool is closed to anyone under 17 from 12pm to 6pm every day. Queens lets under-16s swim with an adult but sets 16 as the minimum for the sauna and hot tub, and 18 for treatments. THE NICI keeps under-16s to two indoor splash sessions a day but allows them in its outdoor pool at any time it is open.
Hotel Collingwood gives two different answers. Its spa etiquette says the minimum age for the spa and treatment area is 18 without written consent from a parent, while its terms and conditions say treatments start at 16. Check with the hotel before booking a treatment for a 16- or 17-year-old. For a family stay where the pool is the main draw, swim times and children's pools are compared on the hotels with pools page.
What a spa break includes
Spa break packages bundle a room, breakfast and spa time, and most add a short treatment. Only some hotels publish a starting price; the others price through their booking engine.
| Hotel and package | Treatment included | Also included | From price | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| THE NICI: NICI Spa Break | 30-minute NICI Signature Massage each | Continental breakfast, spa access, cinema and games room | £302 per room per night, two sharing, non-refundable. Adults 18+ only | NICI spa break |
| Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel: The Serenity Escape | None | Breakfast, full spa access, afternoon tea | £164 per room per night, two sharing (Sunday rates in January, February, November and December) | West Cliff spa breaks |
| Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel: The Indulgence Retreat | None | Dinner, bed and breakfast, full spa access, afternoon tea | £199 per room per night, two sharing (same date basis) | West Cliff spa breaks |
| Hotel Collingwood: Overnight Eden Spa Retreat | 25-minute treatment | Bed and breakfast, pool, sauna and hot tub | £164.50; per room or per person not stated | Collingwood offer |
| Captain’s Club: Riverside Spa Escape | 25-minute treatment each | River-facing room for two, £30 per person dinner allowance | £319 per room | Captain’s Club spa breaks |
| The Connaught: Coastal Recharge Spa Break | 30-minute massage or facial each | Breakfast, full spa use, robes and slippers | Not stated | Connaught spa breaks |
- Treatment included
- 30-minute NICI Signature Massage each
- Also included
- Continental breakfast, spa access, cinema and games room
- From price
- £302 per room per night, two sharing, non-refundable. Adults 18+ only
- Source
- NICI spa break
- Treatment included
- None
- Also included
- Breakfast, full spa access, afternoon tea
- From price
- £164 per room per night, two sharing (Sunday rates in January, February, November and December)
- Source
- West Cliff spa breaks
- Treatment included
- None
- Also included
- Dinner, bed and breakfast, full spa access, afternoon tea
- From price
- £199 per room per night, two sharing (same date basis)
- Source
- West Cliff spa breaks
- Treatment included
- 25-minute treatment
- Also included
- Bed and breakfast, pool, sauna and hot tub
- From price
- £164.50; per room or per person not stated
- Source
- Collingwood offer
- Treatment included
- 25-minute treatment each
- Also included
- River-facing room for two, £30 per person dinner allowance
- From price
- £319 per room
- Treatment included
- 30-minute massage or facial each
- Also included
- Breakfast, full spa use, robes and slippers
- From price
- Not stated
- Source
- Connaught spa breaks
The Connaught sells four packages in all, up to a two-night retreat with a 50-minute side-by-side treatment and a £30 per person dinner allowance, and takes 10% off extra treatments booked during the break. Captain's Club's packages run up to a two-night Friday or Saturday arrival with a full body massage each, from £598 per room.
Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel website →
What treatments cost
Of the hotels checked, The Connaught and Queens publish treatment prices on pages that could be read. At The Connaught, a 60-minute massage costs £85 Monday to Thursday and £90 Friday to Sunday, according to its treatment menu. A 55-minute ishga Signature Body Massage at Queens costs £78, and its 25-minute express massage £40.
Both also sell spa access to people who are not staying, which is useful when one person in a group wants a spa and the hotel booked has none. Spa day packages and prices for non-residents are a separate question from an overnight stay and are left out here.
Frequently asked questions
Which spa hotels are by the sea?
On Sandbanks, the Haven Hotel's leisure club has a sea-view hot tub and gives guests direct access to the beach. In Bournemouth, the spa hotels in the table sit on the East and West Cliff tops, above the beach rather than on it. Which of them sell sea-view rooms is set out in the sea-view hotels comparison.
Are any spa hotels near Bournemouth on the water?
Two in Christchurch are. Christchurch Harbour Hotel is at Mudeford, and its spa was refurbished for summer 2026 with new arched windows framing views of Christchurch Harbour. Captain's Club Hotel is on the River Stour.
Is the spa accessible for wheelchair users?
Not at all of them. The Connaught has a lift to its spa but says the spa area is not suitable for wheelchairs, THE NICI says its spa needs stairs to reach, and the Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel's spa is down 15 steps.
Can I park at a spa hotel?
Parking terms vary as much as spa charges: The Connaught gives free parking to direct bookings, subject to space, and THE NICI charges £27 a night. Hotel-by-hotel terms are compared in Bournemouth hotels with parking.